Home > Discussion Groups > Constructive Comments
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Shapeways 3D stuff

March 1 2017 at 5:05 PM
Doug Bauer  (Login drop-off)
Missing-Lynx members
from IP address 98.232.182.115

Just bought the driver compartment for the Meng "Shilka" from Shapeways - man, I couldn't believe the detail in those things!! I've never worked with this 3D stuff before, does anyone have any experience with it? I primed the parts with automotive primer, and have yet to cut the pieces from the sprues - are there pitfalls? I know it's pretty fragile stuff so any advice will be greatly appreciated. TIA

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Marc Brandes
(Login marc-brandes)
Missing-Lynx members

Re: Shapeways 3D stuff

March 2 2017, 6:36 AM 

I've used 3D printed items and just treat them as regular plastic parts. Prime with Tamiya rattle can and airbrush with Tamiya acrylics.

Respond to this message   
roy chow
(Login roy_chow)
Missing-Lynx members

3D resin

March 2 2017, 7:44 AM 

Examine the parts after you've primered. Sometimes minute ridges appear, a remnant of the printing process. If so, sand or file down those ridges and primer again.

Use a razor saw when removing from the runner -- don't try to force it like you would normal resin parts. Use CA to affix to your model. Good luck!
Roy Chow
Join AMPS!
http://www.amps-armor.org

Respond to this message   
Mark Ford
(Login fordmark36)
Missing-Lynx members

wash it

March 2 2017, 12:07 PM 

I have bought some of the Shapeways products for myself. Instructions highly recommend washing the parts in warm soapy water to remove any of the "wax" material before assembly and paint.
Mark

Respond to this message   
Doug Bauer
(Login drop-off)
Missing-Lynx members

Thank you for your input, men! N/T

March 2 2017, 1:53 PM 

Respond to this message   
Mike Goldberg
(Login MikeyBugs95)
Missing-Lynx members

Re: Shapeways 3D stuff

March 8 2017, 2:29 PM