Welcome to the Carvingpost Forum
An internet community dedicated to the art of chainsaw carving & friends

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >><< Back  

Elctric vs battery vs Gas - Oh which saw to buy ?

March 23 2017 at 3:54 PM
Barry  (Login klbj1961)

I am just beginning to explore the world of chainsaw carving and am hoping to carve bears and animals etc.

I am really torn between electric and gas.... and now battery chainsaws.

I am trying to satisfy the following criteria:
1) Lightweight
2) Good all around saw for cutting logs, shaping and doing detail work
3) Powerful enough to handle most jobs as well as being able to use in the field occasionally (IE trimming trees)
3) relatively quiet
4) Easy to use.

Yeah I know, everyone's list.

I have a little electric 9 amp chainsaw from Home Depot, but I assume I will need a much more powerful one to accomplish carving without pulling my hair out.

I like the idea of electric as they are quieter and I could saw forever without driving the neighbors mad ( I hope anyway)

Stihl is having a sale on their gas MS170 and I can pick it up for $159. I can change the chain & bar for about $75 - So for about $135 I figure I can have a decent saw. But it's gas and noisy. So the questions are:
a) For the price is this a good saw?
b) Should I spend considerably more for an electric chainsaw? ( About $100 - 200 more)
c) Is a 13 amp saw powerful enough?
d) What about battery chainsaws?

I'd appreciate your comments and recommendations. I would like to spend $250 or less for the saw and 1/4 bar + chain

Thanks

Barry

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Barry
(Login klbj1961)

Gas vs electric chainsaw

March 23 2017, 3:57 PM 

edited - "Stihl is having a sale on their gas MS170 and I can pick it up for $159. I can change the chain & bar for about $75 - So for about $235 I figure I can have a decent saw".

Respond to this message   
joe
(Login jbusch)

saw

March 23 2017, 4:48 PM