Back to the Lair!  

Leader-Post article (Local flavour for male award)

January 19 2011 at 7:29 AM
No score for this post
N. W. Bruin  (Login NW_Bruin_GM)

Response to Vancouver Province article (Speedy Spencer sizzles for Giants)

Local flavour for male award

The Leader-Post

January 19, 2011

Three Regina products have been named finalists for Sask Sport Inc.'s male athlete-of-the-year award.

Curler Ben Hebert, speed skater Lucas Makowsky and former Regina Pats star Jordan Eberle are up for the award. The Saskatchewan Sport Awards are to be presented April 7 at TCU Place in Saskatoon.

Hebert, 27, is a member of the Kevin Martin foursome which won the men's curling gold medal at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver. The rink also won three Grand Slam of Curling events during the season.

Makowsky, 23, was a member of the Canadian squad which won the Olympic gold in the men's team pursuit. He also placed 19th in the 1,500 metres and 13th in the 5,000m in Vancouver. Makowsky received the 2010 Peter Williamson Bursary for athletic and academic excellence in 2010 as well.

Eberle, 20, led the WHL's Pats in scoring last season with 50 goals and 106 points. He also helped Canada win the silver medal at the 2010 world junior hockey championship, which was held in Regina and Saskatoon. He's now a member of the NHL's Edmonton Oilers.

The Saskatchewan Sport Awards are presented annually by Sask Sport Inc. to celebrate the outstanding achievements of amateur athletes in the province and individuals who provide their support to the athletes.

Tickets for the awards gala are available at $75 each or $600 for a table of eight. For tickets, phone 780-9300 in Regina or go online ( The guest speaker for the evening is former NHL head coach Ted Nolan.

- - -


To be presented April 7 in Saskatoon

Finalists and nominators

Master: Russell Hart, Regina, Saskatchewan Rowing Association; Mike Vincent, Regina, Canoe Kayak Saskatchewan; Hylke van der Wal, Dalmeny, Saskatchewan Athletics.

Youth Male: Jarret Kenke, Saskatoon, Canoe Kayak Saskatchewan; Michael Qing, Regina, Swim Saskatchewan Inc., and Special Olympics Saskatchewan; Sam Valentine, Saskatoon, Dive Sask.

Youth Female: Emily Schann, Saskatoon, Judo Saskatchewan; Renae Barks, Regina, Saskatchewan Rowing Association; Jessica Campbell, Melville, Saskatchewan Hockey Association.

Male: Ben Hebert, Regina, Regina Sport District Inc.; Lucas Makowsky, Regina, Saskatchewan Amateur Speed Skating Association; Jordan Eberle, Regina, Saskatchewan Hockey Association.

Female: Colette Bourgonje, Prince Albert, Saskatchewan Wheelchair Sports Association; Colleen Sostorics, Kennedy, Southeast Connection Sport, Culture and Recreation District; Kaylyn Kyle, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Soccer Association.

Team: University of Saskatchewan Huskie Men's Basketball Team, Huskie Athletics; Team Saskatchewan Male from the National Aboriginal Hockey Championships, Saskatchewan Hockey Association; Saskatoon Hilltops, Football Saskatchewan.


Volunteer Recognition Awards: Thomas Victor (TV) Taylor, Warman, Judo Saskatchewan; Jennifer Ellarma, Kindersley, Special Olympics Saskatchewan.

Coach of the Year Award: Dean McGarry, Lloydminster, Judo Saskatchewan.

Coach Dedication Awards: Frank McCrystal, Regina, University of Regina Athletics; Brenda Bennett, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Baton Twirling Association.

Officials' Awards: Blake Lyons, Outlook, Saskatchewan Athletics Association; Arleen Day, Silton, Saskatchewan Curling Association.

© Copyright (c) The Regina Leader-Post

Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.Respond to this message   
Find more forums on WHL TeamsCreate your own forum at Network54
 Copyright © 1999-2017 Network54. All rights reserved.   Terms of Use   Privacy Statement  

This Net Ring owned by you the fans.
[Show me other Team Boards]