AXTELL EXPRESSIONS WEB SITE! .....WWW.AXTELL.COM

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Assistance for Returning Vent

July 24 2010 at 8:38 PM

from IP address 65.9.107.11

Hi Folks,

I'd appreciate any and all feedback. A little background: I began practicing vent in 1978, when I was 10 (I'm 43 now). I was really into it for a number of years, did a lot of community shows, and took second place in the junior competition at the '83 Vent Haven Convention. Although my interest always remained, I stopped when I started college. I earned my degree in acting at NYU, and then went onto grad school to study education. I currently live in south Florida where I am a middle school language arts and drama teacher, as well as a university professor. Recently, I've really had a desire to go back into vent. I'm really excited about it, and I'm looking to have a new puppet built. That said:

- I should say that I will initially use vent in my school and around the community, but as I get better, I'll be open to other venues.

- I'd really appreciate any advice as far good resources (i.e., DVDs, CDs, books) to help get my rusty technique back. Being a trained actor, I feel I have a good sense of character and all that. I'm mostly concerned with lip control and things to do with the vent voice. I recently read that Jeff Dunham recommends Jimmy Nelson's two albums. Via a Net search, I noticed that Lee Cornell sells them on CD, so I just ordered those. Any other suggestions?

- In addition, being very motivated by this blog (especially Terry Fator's recent interview) and others on the Net, I want to be the best vent I can be. I want to develop a good daily practice routine. Any advice there? What exactly should a daily practice entail (e.g., alphabet, sentences, manipulation, etc)? How long should a good daily practice be? Has someone written out a daily practice routine? I remember seeing the Great Lester's practice board at Vent Haven.