<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

New RS Models 1/72 P-51H

September 22 2013 at 7:45 PM
Wes Weisser  (Login wingnutp51)
HyperScale Forums
from IP address 50.81.123.158

Has anyone purchased/built this model yet? I've never built a model from RS Models before and don't want to dish out the money if its not a good kit. Thanks

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply

Christian A.
(Login tourist51)
HyperScale Forums

I have it.

September 22 2013, 8:25 PM 

I got this kit two days ago and I think it is the best P-51H kit to date.
It is a short run kit so a bit of extra sanding and filling will be needed but the surface details look crisp, consistent and accurate.
After taping together the wings, the fuselage and the canopy/windshield (one part) I do not foresee any major fit issue.
I did not measure the kit but I have been looking at P-51H's for a long time and it easily passes the eyeball test.
This kit beats the 1/48 Classic Airframes and Historic Plastic Models kits hands down in my opinion.
Out of the box you can get a really nice and fairly accurate P/F-51H, not so with the 1/48 kits.
The cockpit is basic but nicely done and the decals look nice.
Maybe someday we'll get a 1/32 P-51H or a nice new tool 1/48 kit but until then if you want a nice P-51H RS Models is the way to go.

Christian A.

Respond to this message   

Bryant
(Login 86Sabreboy1)
HyperScale Forums

How does it compare to the 1/72 CMR kit?

September 22 2013, 9:23 PM 

I have this kit and the detail is incredible. Aside from mold release points the finish is exquisite. Here's a review-

http://kits.kitreview.com/cmr160reviewgp_1.htm

I believe in god and the only thing that scares me,,,,,,is Keyser Soze.

Respond to this message   

Christian A.
(Login tourist51)
HyperScale Forums

I don't know.

September 23 2013, 12:31 AM 

Hi Bryant, I do not have the CMR kit, all I ever saw of it is the review you posted.