Place your banner ad here.          See all banner ads

|| ConcernedMembers.com || About || Links Library || Help Warn Others ||
|| Madison Church of Christ || Richland Hills Church of Christ || Hillcrest Church of Christ || More Churches || Sunday School in Exile ||

Where is my NewThisWeek Email subscription?Click Here

Place your text ad here.           See all text ads

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>  
Dr. Bill Crump
(no login)

Re: How About You!

July 31 2011, 11:52 PM 

Sonny wrote: "[I]t would be polite and respectful to say Tom, Mr. Brite, Brother Brite, etc. instead of Brite...Brite...Brite. The tone is rude, condescending and arrogant."

Sonny, I do hope you know that respect is a two-way street. I initially addressed Brite as "Tom," yet knowing that I have a doctoral degree, Brite continues to address me as "Mr. Crump," which is insulting, and he knows it. Therefore, since he shows no respect for me, it is only fitting that we be on "equal" ground. Should Brite ever decide to address me as either "Bill" or "Dr. Crump" or even "Brother Crump," I will be glad to address him as either "Tom" or "Mr. Brite" or even "Brother Brite." And should Brite prove to have a J.D. or other type of doctoral degree, I would also be glad to address him as "Dr. Brite," IF he reciprocated in kind.

Now I'll tell you a true story. On my first day of college, I was looking for a certain classroom and asked directions from a man in the hall. My class schedule simply said the instructor was "Johnston." When I asked the man, "Are You Mr. Johnston?" he immediately but politely said, "DR. Johnston" and slightly emphasized "Dr." as his way of introduction. I apologized and Dr. Johnston forgave my blunder, because I was new. Had I continued to address him as "Mr. Johnston," it would have been most insulting.

Now if Brite really wants to perpetuate ill will, then he will continue with the "Mr. Crump" bit.

Respond to this message   
Sonny
(no login)

August 1 2011, 2:15 PM