<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Here I Go Again

November 9 2006 at 1:06 PM
No score for this post
Ken Smith from PA  (no login)

I shot a PPC 600 match a week ago with my stock Glock 21 and was very happy with a 596. Granted it wasn't the National Match Course from 50 yards but it was still fun none the less. I'm bringing out of the Funny Gun (Custom 686) for 2007 and I'll be chasing that Master Class card once again.

I started shooting 1500 matches 10 years ago and I'm still stuck in the Expert Class. Part of my problem is trying different guns and dealing with frustration. Like the time I saw guys using this cool looking PPC9 that I had to have for myself. I knew that if I had that gun I'd be able to make Master Class. I couldn't wait for it to arrive. I soon learned that the PPC9 (5") was a very unforgiving gun for me. Perfectly capable of 1500/1500 as proven by the Champions, but in my hands dropped me from Expert scores to Sharpshooter scores. It wasn't long until frustration set in. Nothing like spending tons of money on a new gun, reloading equipment and more expensive bullets only to watch my scores tank. An arm injury then took me out of competition for a while and I've only been playing around since.

Just for fun I pulled the 686 back out the other day and shot some Match 4 relays. The smoke, the smell of the burning lube, and the sight of light shinning through gapping holes in the 10 ring after my first string of 12 shots brought back great memories.

The PPC9 is now a safe queen in another guys safe. The funny gun is out, the Dillon is converted to .38, and Precision Delta with their sweet southern hospitality (and some of my money) are sending me thousands of HBWCs. I'm diving into this awesome sport once again. Thanks to Bob Dziak and all the guys that run the Lebanon PA matches.