<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Glasses for PPC

February 4 2008 at 9:05 PM
No score for this post

donovan  (Login jamdon)

I currently wear bi-focal glasses for proper vision. I am new to PPC competition and I need to know if I focus on the front sight as I do in Bulls Eye competition or both target and front sight? What I really need to know is, do I get shooting glasses corrected for sharp front sight or for the target (especially at 50 yds)?

Thanks in advance.

-donovan

Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
DOUG
(no login)

FRONT SIGHT!

No score for this post
February 9 2008, 9:49 PM 

FRONT SIGHT! NO DOUBT!

joe
(no login)

Re: Glasses for PPC

No score for this post
February 10 2008, 8:04 PM 

I have found that having the bifocal, for your near vision, on top of the lens works best for PPC shooting.
Take your pistol to the eye doctor and see what amount of correction you will need to see the sight clearly.Make sure you can see the x ring outlines clearly at seven and 15 yards so you can maintain a good aimpoint.Don,t get too much correction or you will constantly have to move your head up and down to focus on the front sight and make sure you are properly aligned on the target.I use DECOTE HYWYDE glasses and they have an excellent website.
I was still able to win my state championship last year with a brand new pair of glasses I got just days before the match.
My fifty yard line scores actually went up as my near vision started to fail I had to work a lot harder to focus on the top of the front sight than I used to have to.Good luck.
Joe

Bob
(Login Starpacker1)

Re: Glasses for PPC

No score for this post
March 4 2008, 6:46 PM