<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Wadcutter vs Semi W/C

August 5 2008 at 8:57 PM
No score for this post
Brad  (Login bradiniowa)

I am new to this and still working on the basics. Do I want to use a W/C for a nicer hole in the target or a semi W/c for quicker loading? Thanks

Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Doug
(no login)

Re: Wadcutter vs Semi W/C

No score for this post
August 5 2008, 11:30 PM 

I beleived that over 90% of PPC shooters use wadcutters. In my opinion, wadcutters are the only way to go. The wadcutter produces less recoil which leads to smaller groups. With practice and having your cylinders chamfered, reloading will become a breeze. The chamfering can be done at a local gunshop for about $15 or $20.

PPC Ken
(no login)

No score for this post
August 6 2008, 11:44 AM 

I agree with Doug - BUT, I assume you are talking about a full PPC Revolver that (by rules)does not require the 158gr. SWC. If, however, you are shooting a 6" stock/Distinguish revolver, my experience is that the 148gr HBWC will not "hold up" at 50 yards. This is mainly due to the fact that in S&W's a stock twist is about 19-1 whereas the PPC barrel is about 10-1. The full WC's will not stabilize enough at 50 for accuracy. Full WC's are fine at 25 and in. OK, that's my story, and I'm sticking to it. ken

Kris
(Login nwoppc)

No score for this post
January 21 2016, 9:29 PM 

Bump

JR Chapman
(Login jamesrchapman)

No score for this post
January 25 2016, 5:23 PM 

hogwash. a 158 gr swc doesn't hold a candle to a 148 gr WC in a K-38/M-14 at 50 yards.

That's what the great Bullseye shooters were shooting back in the day when revolvers ruled center fire matches.

Jim

Tony
(Login tonyk60)

Wadcutter vs SWC

No score for this post
January 27 2016, 2:59 AM