Net 54 Vintage Baseball Card Forum
Hello to all visitors! This is a moderated forum for the discussion of Pre-WWII baseball cards and related topics. Click on the icons above to visit the individual areas of Network 54 VBC. If this is your first time visiting us, please take the time to read our Forum Rules which can be found at the link above. You can directly contact the moderator here if you have any questions or comments. Enjoy!
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Top of page | Bottom of page | Main Index  

did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008 at 7:31 PM

  (Login milkit1)

I just got this t201 in the mail and it looks suspicious. Wondering if anyone else got any of the other t201's this guy was selling?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=280242880400&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=018

 
 Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Steve Dawson
(Login SteveDawson)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 7:46 PM 

I've never dealt with this seller, but the scan of the card does look suspicious to me:

1. The printing in the bio/stat area looks wrong.

2. The bottom-right corner on the front/bottom-left from the back looks like it could be from a thumb/finger possibly holding the card in some kind of liquid to prematurely age the card.


Steve

 
 


(Login asoriano)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 7:48 PM 

They definitely look suspicious. The low ending prices are probably an indicator of being fake.


 
 


(Login milkit1)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 7:57 PM 

the thing is, he's selling all sorts of vintage cards that look good. surely someone from this board won one besides me?

 
 

(Login richieb315)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 8:06 PM 

Why does a seller keep the winning bidder private. To me that seller is trying to hide something. To me that iss suspicious and a beware sign should raise. IMO


    
This message has been edited by richieb315 on Jul 21, 2008 8:07 PM


 
 


(Login fdnyladder7)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 8:14 PM 

99% of mine had uneven cuts. This one is too perfect imo.

Are his other 201s as evenly cut?

 
 


(Login milkit1)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 8:16 PM 

the weird thing is on the top of the chase side of his scan is uneven yet this card I got isnt? Im smelling big fat paypal report here

 
 


(Login bamacollection)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 8:51 PM 

The cards are authentic. Tim is my brother and unless David Hunt is selling fakes, they are real. Same goes for the rest of his current listings. Most came from the last Mastro Auction. Yeah, his feedback has seen better days, but I know he isn't a crook. All of you insightful board leaders who assume the worst at every given chance need to apparently put your doubting eyes on the hobbies auction leaders. "Looks bad!, Has got to be trimmed!, Low end must be fake....etc." Come on guys. He offers a no questions asked refund policy! Yes, this is a little more personal to me. But, this is the second thread in a week about Tim, and as Leon was quick to point out, he does have a brother who is a board member. If I stood by idle, I wouldn't be much of a brother. Tim introduced pre-war cards to me and I owe him a lot for that. He is also fairly easy to talk to about any problems you may have. His Ebay account is public record. Both his home and office numbers, I believe, are listed.

As far as the card in question above, if you are not satisfied with it, I'll buy it. Just email me and I'll shoot a Paypal this evening.


    
This message has been edited by bamacollection on Jul 21, 2008 8:52 PM


 
 


(Login milkit1)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 8:57 PM 

wait a tick here. There was ANOTHER thread about him? I looked and couldnt find it?

 
 

(Login carrigansghost)

did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 9:01 PM 

The seller does offer a 7 day return policy with no questions asked. I would talk to the seller first.

Rawn

 
 


(Login wolfie51sb)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 9:02 PM 

Since Lance brought up the other thread, the link is below. I started it about 10 days ago, but it had nothing to do with questioning the legitimacy of the seller's cards. All it dealt with was some extremely poor communication skills on the part of the seller. All of my points were 100 percent accurate.

In addition to receiving a few message via the eBay system from the seller, who was understandably unhappy with the post, I also was threatened with a slander lawsuit.

Take it all for what it's worth. That's what I did.

http://www.network54.com/Forum/153652/thread/1215887850/last-1216007243/Not+the+sharpest+tool+in+the+eBay+shed

 
 


(Premier Login leonl)
Forum Owner

um

July 21 2008, 9:02 PM 

I think Tim is sometimes a little slow to communicate but I would trust him in a deal.....same with Lance,(hi Lance).... though you aren't as slow to communicate .....no worries....

 
 


(Login milkit1)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 9:02 PM 

also,
I do not know too much about t201's. Is the stock very slim, almost papery? Have a weird smell to em?

 
 


(Premier Login leonl)
Forum Owner

Rob

July 21 2008, 9:04 PM 

We posted at the same da** time....I guess I sort of validated your statement and vice versa...

 
 


(Login wolfie51sb)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 9:08 PM 

Leon,

No worries. The main reason I posted in this thread was to set the record straight that the other post regarding of this seller had nothing to do with whether his cards were legit.

That being said, when an eBayer is quick to threathen legal action, that simply raises a red flag for me. Who needs the hassle?

 
 


(Login milkit1)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 9:14 PM 

The colors look dull (I know its supposed to have water stain) and the paper stock feels more like the thin side of a mathbook than like the paperstock of a t206 for example

Here is hopefully a better scan of the chase side:


 
 


(Login fkw)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 21 2008, 10:54 PM 

Can you post a closeup scan of the stats and ad on the bottom of other side. Are the letter crisp or blurry. look at the letters with holes in them like "e" "d" "a" etc. sometimes the fakes will have some or all of the holes filled in (especially the small factory district number).

The color doesnt look right on back it sort of has a blue look instead of dark gray, and the players name at top is not as dark and clear as some Ive seen.

To me it looks bad.......

here is one of Leons cards for comparison. I always google card images to compare and many times Leon has the best pics.


    
This message has been edited by fkw on Jul 21, 2008 10:57 PM


 
 

(Login rhettmyeakley)

Re: did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?

July 22 2008, 12:05 AM 

Everything about the front of that card looks wrong to me. The darks are much darker on legitimate examples, especially the name and sock rings/shoes. The back will probably tell us more than the front, as has been stated by others.

The fold line also looks wrong both on the front and back(at least what I can see from the auction), a card with as little wear to the corners as this one appears to have would have the fold line on front almost completely blending into the background, and the colors would definately not change through that area. The close-up of the Chase looks very strange right along the sleve of his jersey on his left arm.
-Rhett


    
This message has been edited by rhettmyeakley on Jul 22, 2008 12:07 AM
This message has been edited by rhettmyeakley on Jul 22, 2008 12:06 AM


 
 


(Premier Login leonl)
Forum Owner

my guess

July 22 2008, 12:05 AM 

First of all thanks for the kind thoughts Frank. I always say a large front and back scan is worth a thousand words.
My guess is that the card is ok. I think the scan isn't that good though. I remember the other day when Zach thought a T209-2 I had won was different than it really was. I had played around with the image in "paint" and it distorted it somewhat, as seen on the screen. Just a guess but I will say it's ok....plus if Hunt sold it I doubt a fake would get by them (mistakes can happen to anyone, I know...)...regards

 
 
Current Topic - did anyone else win any t201's from this guy? Im wondering if this is fake?  Respond to this message   
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Top of page | Bottom of page | Main Index