Net 54 Vintage Baseball Card Forum
Hello to all visitors! Please visit the NEW Net54 board at www.Net54baseball.com You can directly contact the moderator here if you have any questions or comments. Enjoy!

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Top of page | Bottom of page | Main Index  

THE MONSTER - "Making Noise"

April 27 2009 at 12:33 PM

Phil  (Login pgellis)

I have been collecting a graded T206 set for a little over 3 years now.....and it is "making a lot of noise". Here's my situation: My wife and I are having some construction done at our home and we put money away to pay for it with cash. No loan. No debt. To get it to the point we now want, we need some more money.

My two choices are:
Take out a small loan (which I really, really don't want to do)
Or
Sell my T206 set

I just finished paying off all of my credit cards last month and really enjoy not having a credit card payment. So do I know take out a loan? (Under $20,000) or sell my set?

I know most will say, hold onto the cards, but at 40% completion, I will be constantly buying more cards and then paying a loan payment at the same time.

If I decide to sell, what would be my best option? I will only sell them if I can do it as one group. I will never break it up. Right now I have 214 graded T206s. All but 2 are SGC50 (PSA4) or above. Just 2 at SGC40.

I look forward to feedback/thoughts. If anyone is interested, please email me at my work email: phil@eastcoasttrophy.com

Thanks guys! This is tough.

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Jodi Birkholm
(Login JBirkholm)

Re: THE MONSTER - "Making Noise"

April 27 2009, 12:39 PM 

Why not apply for a line of credit (or two)? The interest rates are low and manageable, and you won't have to sacrifice your collection. This way, you CAN always sell the cards as a later option if absolutely necessary.

Phil
(Login pgellis)

April 27 2009, 12:48 PM