Return to Articles  

Absolutely

October 15 2008 at 12:29 PM
No score for this post

(Login millhouse23)
from IP address 72.72.236.36

Response to Have you used Kenpo?

Sir,

This subject has come up quite a bit on this forum since I have been viewing it over for the past seven years. Although we ultimately want to avoid trouble and be aware of potentially dangerous situations to help prevent them from occuring, Kenpo teaches us to deal with the worst case scenario.

I have had to protect myself several times, mostly related to jobs. As a normal civilian I have only had to protect myself maybe three times, but as a bouncer for five years I put lots of things to use--primarily in the contact/control manipulation realm. I also worked for Child Protective Services for three years which put me in hairy situations of using mostly the mental aspects of our art--especially the de-escalating of situations when people threatened me for taking their children away.

With all that being said, we train to have good form and to look "pretty" so to speak. Especially throughout the forms. I love it when people say, "Your forward bow didn't look great." Anyway, the news flash is that on the streets it isn't pretty. In fact, it is quite ugly. If you think you will as great as you do in the studio you are nuts. It's not about how you look. It's about getting away alive.

On the streets you will use your conscious mind in the realm of awareness and assessment, but in the heat of a physical self-defense situation you will use your subconscious mind--all of that which is engrained in you through hard core practice and reality based mind set. I believe mindset, attitude and intent are three major indicators of your success or lack thereof on the street.