<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>HOME  

ASR-10 refurb questions

January 23 2017 at 11:20 AM
maru859  (Login maru859)

I have an ASR-10 I bought off ebay a while back. It has some issues and I want to see what I might be in for if I decide to refurb this. The goal is to fix some cosmetics issues and more importantly make it 100% functional again. I have the PDF of the repair manual but I am not very technically inclined so there is some hesitation to do major surgery.

I appreciate any thoughts on the issues below.

Issue 1: No midi

I cannot get the unit to send or receive midi. It fails the midi loop test every time. I think that can be fixed by replacing the digital board. Does that sound about right?

Issue 2: A couple of the yellow/red lights on the display board do not all light up. I think 2 are down. Do I have to replace the entire display unit to fix?

Issue 3: Stickers...grrrr..I hate stickers on my gear but the guy has a couple that I want to remove. Any tricks for removing the stickers without ruining the paint?

There are a few other things but I just wanted to see if anyone had any thoughts about these issues. I want to love this board (I had a very clean one back in the 90s but) but this one is in rough shape.

Thanks.

m

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Mark
(Login Mrksmrk8)

Refurb questions

May 3 2017, 10:11 AM