Return to Index  

Disabled fan

July 3 2012 at 4:24 AM

from IP address 41.2.62.233

Dear Mr. Diamond

I write this letter to you in the great hope that it would e answered.Hello, my name is Pamela Gower. I was born without arms, Grade 4 Scoliosis in my back and two deformed legs.To crown all of this, they discovered a cancerous growth in my brain. Life has hit hard. The reason for my letter is my father. He is my hero , the reason for my existens. He recently found out that he has prostate cancer and a serious heart problem. Despite this he works very hard to pay, especially , for my medical bills. You are his and my favourite singer. When I was a baby, It was difficult to get me to sleep, but you helped. He started playing me your songs. I fell asleep to sounds like Shiloh, Canta Libre, Porcupine Pie,Morningside and so many more. Morningside has special meaning for me, as my dad is a carpenter by trade. "Morningside, an old man died....when he died , he left a table made of wood and pride.....for my children" It brings tears to my eyes and I think how ironic it is that lyrics of a song written by someone such along time ago with these words could have so much meaning and truth and be so profound for some like me, thousands of miles and continents away from the person who wrote it. The Jazz Singer is our favourite movie, I practically know the words off by heart.Your songs cheer me up, make me happy,sad and evokes every emotion possible. Though I am young,29, I love older music, I find it beautiful and ,real and uncorrupted. My father encouraged me to put my mind to good use and I am studying for my Masters degree in Law. My goal is to help other disabled people like myself, because , believe me, they need it in South Africa, where we live. Mr. Diamond, you have had such a wonderful effect and have been a part of our family. I have a small request, About five years ago, while we were moving house, my dad's box with his collection of cd's was stolen. In there were