<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Another Paypal Fraud

April 24 2003 at 5:01 PM
No score for this post
Anonymous  (no login)
from IP address 66.169.83.72

 
The below FRAUDULENT email was received. When you click on "LOGIN" button it leads you NOT to Paypal website, but to the following web site:

http://www.portland.co.uk/404.esp
And then to:
http://www.portland.co.uk
And the hidden thing under the "LOGIN" button is this:
http://boost2003.port5.com
AND:
www.paypal.com@boost2003.port5.com

With this they collect login info (user name, password) of unsuspecting Paypal users and then withdraw their money etc.

FRAUD company in United Kingdom address and other data:

PORTLAND Communications

PO BOX 357
New Malden
Surrey
KT3 6WN
Telephone
0870 741 0994
Facsimile
07876 824671
Sales
sales@portland.co.uk

Try to avoid their "services" ...

BELOW IS THEIR EMAIL:


Paysecurity wrote:
Dear PayPal Customer
This e-mail is the notification of recent innovations taken by PayPal to detect inactive customers and
non-functioning mailboxes.

The inactive customers are subject to restriction and removal in the next 3 months.

Please confirm your email address and and Credit Card info number by logging in to your PayPal
account using the form below:




Email Address:

Password:

Full Name #:

Billing Adress #:

Billing State #:

Credit Card #:

Exp.Date(mm/yy) #:

ATM PIN (Bank Verification) #:








This notification expires May 31, 2003

Thanks for using PayPal!

This PayPal notification was sent to your mailbox. Your PayPal account is set up to receive the PayPal
Periodical newsletter and product updates when you create your account. To modify your notification
preferences and unsubscribe, go to https://www.paypal.com/PREFS-NOTI and log in to your account.
Changes to your preferences may take several days to be reflected in our mailings. Replies to this
email will not be processed.

If you previously asked to be excluded from Providian product offerings and solicitations, they
apologize for this e-mail. Every effort was made to ensure that you were excluded from this e-mail. If
you do not wish to receive promotional e-mail from Providian, go to http://removeme.providian.com/.

Copyright© 2002 PayPal Inc. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property
of their respective owners.

 
Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
DS2K3
(no login)
81.77.14.27

Wrong

No score for this post
July 28 2003, 3:53 PM 

This fraud was commited by a user on the free account. Portland is a reputable company, but should not be held responsible for misuses of their services. They have a strict policy on spamming, and they have since disbaled sendmail to help prevent this.


 
Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.
Current Topic - Another Paypal Fraud  Respond to this message   
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  
Find more forums on Coins & Paper MoneyCreate your own forum at Network54
 Copyright © 1999-2009 Network54. All rights reserved.   Terms of Use   Privacy Statement