Check out the Narcolepsy Chats at:
TalkAboutSleep.com
Chats every Mon & Thurs
(check schedule for any changes)

People don't understand.

by Michael Robinson (no login)

I am in the Rotc and I am studying Electrical Engineering at a school thats number 2 in the country in that program. I don't want to tell ROTC that I have narcolepsy because they will drop me and I will no longer be able to pay for college. The Engineering program is the toughest program at the school and not only do I have to struggle with that, but balancing ROTC and Narcolepsy with it is almost impossible. My doctor prescribed me to take provigil 200 mg every mourning and it worked initially but now the sleepiness is creeping back. My concentration is off, I want to just sleep all the time. I have to wake up at 5 am MOn-WED_Friday to workout for RoTc and then I have mostly mourning classes after that. Of course I miss a couple of classes and it is seriously hurting my grades because of the tough classes I am taking. I am fatigue all the time, I often forget completely about homework assignments even if I just remembered to do them a hour before. I can't commit to the strict schedule required for narcolepsy because being an engineering major requires you to pull many all nighters which is something I can't do. Nobody I talk to about it understands this condition and just think I'm lazy and unmotivated. The more I try to explain the more hopeless I feel that people just won't understand. Even my parents think its something that I can just correct. I feel constantly pressured to stay in Engineering and ROTC because I am the youngest and my two older siblings did not want to go the army route despite my dad being a soldier for nearly 27 years. Even though my two older siblings later received bachelors degrees, both of them had to come home first after being kicked out of their universities for grades and both already have two kids with one being 26 and the other being 22.And because my brother got hi