The QBasic Forum      Other Subforums, Links and Downloads
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Phishing attack.

July 23 2007 at 10:49 PM
  (Login PhyloGenesis)
R

I ran across a website asking for my e-mail account password.

I got an e-mail from my friend (name only, it wasn't his e-mail account) that referred me to a website. When I tried to take the quiz it was talking about it wanted me to create an account. I gave my name as "Phylo", "Genesis", born March 15, 1986 (not true), and my e-mail address (it already had it anyway). I click next thinking it was done and it asked me to fill in my gmail address and password! !!! Yeah right!

I promptly exited the website, e-mailed my friend recommending he change his password and not go back there, reported is as a phishing attack to the GMail team, and posted here.

The website in question is:
http://www.flixster.com/
http://www.flixster.com/inviteDisplay.do?displayInviteEmbed=&type=Gmail&wiz=true&mct=true
The e-mail address I received it from was:
messages@flixster.com

PhyloGenesis

 
 Respond to this message   
Current Topic - Phishing attack.
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Newbies usually go to www.qbasic.com and click on The QBasic Forum
Forum regulars have their own ways, which include The QBasic Community Forums