--


  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

What's with the pop-ups here?

March 9 2005 at 7:53 AM

RedFeather  (Login RedFeather)
from IP address 63.158.252.87

-
In the last week I have been bombarded by little pop-ups with java links everytime I enter this forum. They end up with a MSN-looking link to a trouble shooting Wizard as my computer "may have internal errors". I'm going to contact MSN to see if they are legit. Anyone else receiving these?

 
 Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Jim
(Login mijwayrws54A)
68.255.157.101

Pop-ups

March 9 2005, 6:09 PM 

Yes. I had the same problem until I set my firewall to block them. They are very annoying in the least and potentially hazardous to my PC.

 
 Respond to this message   
Anonymous
(Login hnt5)
172.192.143.128

Never really had a prolem with them

March 9 2005, 7:27 PM 

I don't (hardly) ever see one. Maybe my NIS blocks them.

 
 Respond to this message   

(Login mightyd)
64.185.140.224

Use FireFox

March 9 2005, 9:17 PM 

Use Mozilla Firefox. Blocks popups (but gives you the option of allowing them if you need to. Notifies you when you are going to an obfuscated URL, like the phishing email lins that look legit but aren't. Extremely resistant to spyware. Instead of opening new windows, uses tabs in the original browser window. Fast, secure, featureful, and free. Get it here:
www.mozilla.org

 
 Respond to this message   
Current Topic - What's with the pop-ups here?
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  
Find more forums on Air GunsCreate your own forum at Network54
 Copyright © 1999-2008 Network54. All rights reserved.   Terms of Use   Privacy Statement