<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

RWS 45 .177 ???

January 16 2007 at 2:42 PM
  (Login CarmelKid)
from IP address 70.105.252.133

I've been thinking of buying a RWS M34, but the other day I saw an RWS Mod 45 .177 with a Tasco scope for 150.00 at a local gun dealer. It looks like it has some age on it. Anything special to look for when buying a used air rifle? Is there a date stamped on it somewhere? And is this gun rated as powerful as the newer RWS's? I'm new to airguns, have plenty of firearms but am looking for something to plink with at home without annoying the neighbors, plus need to rid the area of squirrels and possibly some feral pigeons. Probably my answers are on this forum somewhere I'm still reading and learning. Thanks in advance for the help.

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply

(Login lymonm)

date stamp on Diana/RWS...

January 17 2007, 6:15 AM 

is usually on the tube at the rear on the left side of the gun, very small. Spring guns can be damaged (dry firing, leaving them cocked) so there is a risk.
If you cannot shoot the gun over a chronograph it would be hard to be certain.
A 45 (in good order) will perform like a 34.

Respond to this message   
MDriskill
(no login)

RWS 45

January 17 2007, 5:08 PM 

There have actually been two completely different modern Dianas known as the model 45.

The first was introduced in the late 1970's, as a more powerful successor to the long-popular model 35. It was made about 1977 to 1984 or so, and is characterized by a large sliding safety at the rear of the receiver, and a bolt through the stock just above the trigger. This gun is rather large and mechanically complex, but is still well-liked and sought after.

This gun was so popular that soon after it was discontinued in the mid-80's, Diana created a new model 45. This is simply a model 34 action in a new ambidextrous stock that closely resembles the lines of the original gun.