<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Netball Health & Safety

September 26 2002 at 2:09 PM
Score 4.0 (1 person)
samantha  (Login webbnetball)

Has anyone heard about the Health & Safety issue of netball posts. I have been informrd that posts now need weights to aid stability.
where can we get these?
are these not going to cause a trip hazzard around the back of the post?
can any one help with more information please as we cannot use our posts at the moment, therefore no netball.

Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Andy Dawson
(Login Netballman)

Don't be PC, be sensible

Score 5.0 (1 person)
September 26 2002, 4:26 PM 

I'm not an expert, but it would seem to me that the key thing here is the duty of care. Any modern post *ought* to be properly weighted and designed, and not need further weighting - however if you have something old and wobbly which clearly poses a risk, then you need to do something about it.

And if I may be allowed a quick bit of personal rant - what on earth is our society like if we are so concerned with being PC that we lose sight of common sense on issues like this! We should never do anything just because some **** (insert own strength of expletive here) says we should - we should consider what is the sensible and reasonable thing to do. As Samantha points out, in this case the "solution" may well be worse than the "problem".

Sorry, long day (life) :-)

Andy

Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.
Gordon
(no login)

Netball Health & Safety

No score for this post
September 26 2002, 4:36 PM 

Sam,

As Andy rants - this is PC gone mad. All you need to do is look at the courts and the posts along with their support bases and ask yourself a couple of questions:

1. Do the supports pose a tripping hazard beyond what the average player/umpire would expect to find on a netball court?