Return to Index  

Haha, It must be...

October 10 2004 at 4:56 AM
JGV  (Login JoramGV)
AP Discussion Group

Response to I find it interesting to quote someone on themselves.

Hi Thomas,

It must be my relative young age to simply believe such an (how do I say this politely) experienced man as Mr. Roth. Well believe him, I did say his watches might have a finish comparable to Dufour.

But the real reason I remembered that bit of the interview (Beside my good memory due to my young age of course ) is that I expected him to mention Dufour, due to the consensus there seems to be on ThePurists regarding the watch with the best finish.

Mr Roth also mentioned the following:

IanS: You appear to spend a lot of time polishing tiny parts; just how polished do they have to be?

DR: First making; then finishing. I want my movements to be as perfect as I can possibly make them. As I have made only a few movements to date - well nearly a few - two (laughing), I am still learning just how good the finish can be. Some parts I have polished for over a week because I can see still them getting better and better by the day. A client, in all probability, could not see the difference between two days polishing and ten days polishing - I can, however, and that's what counts. I stop polishing when the finish stops improving. It drives Nicolas (his wife) crazy sometimes: over a week on one small part! (Shakes his head in disbelief) I cannot stop if I feel I could do better.