Return to Index  

Re: That teacher who secretly enjoyed it: Another testimony

June 5 2012 at 6:57 AM
dodds 

Response to That teacher who secretly enjoyed it: Another testimony

Mr Dargason,

I read your accounts with interest in that they reflect my experience but indirectly. let me explain. In the early 80's I was a junior high teacher in a suburb of Dallas Texas. At this time and place, corporal punishment was routinely practiced and condoned by school administration, parents and even students. Paddlings were administered only by the principal or vice-principals and always carried out in their office. Teachers could not touch the students and only referred them to the office for discipline problems.

Whenever one was in the administrative area, where the principals' offices were, it was not unusual to hear the sounds of a paddling going on. This was a number of very loud sharp reports through the not-always completely closed doors of the individual offices. Working there a number of years all the staff turned a blind eye and ear to it, and accepted it as nothing shocking or out of ordinary. Of course boys were the recipient much more often than girls but it was not that unusual either. Truancy or tardiness was the most common infraction that girls committed.