<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

smacked bottom

April 20 2006 at 5:13 PM
flash harry 

Hi

I'm new to this type of forum, most people seem to be talking about caning at school but has anyone heard anyone getting or experienced themselves a good old fasioned 'smacked bottom' at school?

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Steve M

Re: smacked bottom

April 20 2006, 9:45 PM 

In my experience, this was a phrase almost purely for infants, though I did hear it once or twice as a threat in primary school.

At Grammar(boys only), threats were of slippering or the generic tanned backside or sent to the Headmaster(cane only job) if threats were made.

I'd also associate the phrase at home with parents of c. 4-8 year olds & no older.

My experience was South London then Mid-Kent, by the way, so maybe there were regional variations.

And, Harry, if you look at my post (this page) re 3rd R in Sarf London, you'll see that I've first-hand experience of what I would define as a good old fashioned smacked bottom, albeit nearly 50 years ago!

I suppose, if teachers were being literal in their threats, it should indeed've been the bottom that was smacked!

Steve

Dean

April 21 2006, 8:13 AM 

From the age of 10 to the age of 13 at a school in Melbourne, Australia - thought mostly at the age of 10 and 11. It was quite a common punishment at that school for boys of that age, and while they made more use of the strap when we got a little older it wasn't unheard of even at 13.

It could be a proper over the knee spanking, or just a single smack delivered with little warning while you were standing upright. The latter didn't hurt all that much but at 13 was quite embarassing, which was probably the point.

David

April 21 2006, 1:25 PM 

At my Primary School in Leeds in the early eighties, boys were often "smacked".