<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Carrying on the Exclamation dot tax regime debate so not lost in earlier posting

February 15 2012 at 5:15 AM
fatboyharris  (Login fatboyharris)
VRF Member
from IP address 78.86.97.77

That Raises More Questions..

February 14 2012 at 6:33 PM

MC Yoon (Login munchiew)
VRF Member
from IP address 221.133.46.30

Response to Could well be

John, for example;

1] Why mark those watches with a lume dot? Surely there is an easier way? Like and additional letter/numeral on the reference number? Or a tiny stamp on the underside of a lug? I remember Jacek had one watch for sale that was so marked.

2] Why did these markings appear for only a short period, say 59 to 63, and then disappear, just as T Swiss T and "Swiss T appeared?

3] What was the tax regime at that time that will explain this as a import tax mark? This will be easily verified by asking the proper tax consultants or the Inland Revenue Department. I was a tax consultant in my previous job life, and we had comprehensive records of all legislation from the day tax was legislated. No information/archival gap here.

4] I would suggest that many other countries had different import tax regimes ( all countries have their own; in fact find me two countries that haave exactly the same regime), but why was there no special markings for the watches for those countries? For example, some Rolexes imported into the US at one time had lower jewels count in their movements, to circumvent higher taxes, but were these watches marked on their dials?

Not trying to give anyboday a hard time, but I feel these are legitimate questions arising from the new import tax hypothesis.

My response

Well the tax regime was interesting

February 15 2012 at 5:21 AM

fatboyharris (Login fatboyharris)
VRF Member
from IP address 78.86.97.77

Response to That Raises More Questions..