<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Langematik perpetual or PP5059

November 29 2006 at 6:42 AM
moses  (Login mosesaaron2002)
PP Discussion Group

Greetings venerable Purists!

Hello, I'm from the Philippines and this is my first time to post a message, I hope that someone will be able to help me decide. Currently, my mind is being tormented which model to purchase. A Langematik perpetual in platinum or a red gold PP5059. Both watches appeal to me but surely, I cannot buy both at the same time. Please provide some pros and cons In terms of movement, value, and overall beauty regarding the two watches. Your reply will be very much appreciated

Many thanks!!!

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
chantank
(no login)

Re: Langematik perpetual or PP5059

November 29 2006, 8:58 AM 

My personal observations after handling both and consider to purchase both at one point in time

I. Movement -
From a finishing & aesthetic perspective is Lange’s hands down for me

II. Design -
Again Lange is more to my taste I find the PP a tad bit small on the wrist

III. Mechanism -
Lange again wins hands down with its incremental functions of:
- Universal push piece to control all functions
- 24 hour indication
- Big date display

IV. Value -
Pure value for money goes to Lange, resale I’m not so sure but I would say nearly equal but slighter advantage to PP.

Hope this helps

Kris

Respond to this message   
moses
(Login mosesaaron2002)
PP Discussion Group

Re: Langematik perpetual or PP5059

November 29 2006, 9:41 AM 

many thanks for the most valuable advice!

For sure, the langematik perpetual exudes that sense of austerity compared to the "too" decorative dial of the 5059. I think that patek, in this case, became unfaithful to the bauhaus school of design which they unwaveringly follow since time immemorial.

I think I was enlightened!!!! lol. many thanks!

Respond to this message   
Ling
(Login hkling)
AP Discussion Group