Welcome to the Herb Society Forum

The Herb Society Forum (UK)

“There's more to herbs than just green leaves.”

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Forum Index  

Is Aloe Vera considered a herb?

October 25 2008 at 7:23 PM
Mike Barry 
from IP address 78.145.68.39

I'm an engineer and non gardener, so please excuse any lack of knowledge when it comes to herbs.

I have recently become a distributor of Aloe Vera products, and now have started a program of educating my self of the use and benefits of this plant. I came across this web site in the links section of a rivals web site.

I notice some of the entries in the forum advocate the ownership of a plant or more, to mix with other herbs. I am told that the aloe vera is related to lilies and garlic families of plants, do this mean it's a herb?

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Sarah Head

Re: Is Aloe Vera considered a herb?

October 26 2008, 9:20 PM 

Hi Mike

My view, in answer to your question, is that any edible plant which has medicinal properties can be considered a herb - this includes trees and some fungi.

The difficulty with using products which have been produced by synthesizing various parts of a plant is that the products may differ widely from the original plant material and their value may be diluted depending on the percentage of original plant the product contains. There also may be problems with manufacturers trying to "standardise" a particular ingredient and thereby concentrating it or using a part of the plant which is not normally used. The examples which come to mind are standardised St Johns Wort tablets and kava kava preparations which are made from the leaves which can be hepatoxic (damage the liver) rather than the root, which is the traditional usage.