The Herb Society Forum (UK)

“There's more to herbs than just green leaves.”

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Forum Index  

Mono diets

November 18 2010 at 3:17 PM
tim 
from IP address 195.194.50.3

Dear all,

I am a student of herbal medicine in the UK (with the IRCH), and am currently learning about mono diets and supplements. Although I have found some useful literature - such as Christopher Vasey's books - members' experiences of and views on mono diets would be invaluable to me. I would also be greatly appreciative of your views on Molkosan as a medical supplement.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Tim.

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Karen lawton

not sure what it is

November 30 2010, 5:23 PM 

Hello

I do not know what you mean by mono diets and have never heard of Molkosan -what exactely is it please

thank you
Karen x

Anthony Lyman-Dixon

Re: Mono diets

December 7 2010, 9:55 AM 

I don't know what Molkosan is either, but on monodiets, the two which immediately spring to mind are the pea/bean diets which wrought such havoc in the middle ages (today's hippies beware!), and the Pellagra-inducing diet of the pre-war Southern states. This latter is more of a deficiency disease rather than actually caused by the foodstuffs themselves, generally cereal. Obviously all monodiets are unbalanced and can lead to an interesting variety of unpleasant deficiency problems
Cassava is different again in that those who know what they are doing can use it as a staple, but strangers or natives eating the wild forms when the domestic crops have failed can fall foul of its toxic glucosides
Anthony

Debs

December 10 2010, 10:03 AM