<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

March 24 2003 at 4:51 PM
Brett  (Login BVAN)
from IP address

What a bunch of talented people you are!! I have been surfing for a year before I got the nerve to try my first bear, not bad for my first. Now I am on my second, I use a STILE MS-170, 14'' BAR. anyway, I sure could use some advice on finishing. On my first bear I used 3 different stains, light, med. dark. Do most folks paint or stain?? I am probably giving to much info and asking silly questions but please understand I'm just getting started!! Any input on any aspect of chainsaw carving would be appreciated!! Thank you all, BE CAREFUL and GOOD CARVING!

Respond to this message   

(Login GratefulDad)

finishes, etc

March 24 2003, 6:51 PM 

Hi Brett!
tough question to answer. Paint works, stain works, and a lot of people burn carvings with a torch for color as well. Oils, urethanes, and varnishes are also popular. Boiled linseed oil cut with a little mineral spirits is a common base coat, but some swear by sanding sealer instead. Spray paints are popular as well.

A lot of carvers consider the MS170 a little under-powered for carving, but you don't need a lot of power to carve, just to carve faster. Look into a quarter or dime tip carving bar, and 1/4 inch pitch chain (you also have to replace the sprocket) for doing finer detail work.

You might want to check the get the serial number off of your saw and check the stihl web site, there was a recall notice for ms170 and ms180 saws regarding a potential fuel leak. http://www.stihlusa.com/recall/recall_MS170_180C.html

Hope that gets you started.

Respond to this message   
(Login BVAN)

March 26 2003, 10:39 PM