<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Antique Atmos

November 30 2006 at 3:21 AM

cab0419  (Login cab0419)
PP Discussion Group

Someone on the general watch discussion forum suggested putting the following message here. I know that this is pre-JLC and it's a clock not a watch, but your input would be appreciated.

I have the opportunity to buy the following two Atmos clocks but can only afford one. Both are circa 1930. I have been considering purchasing an Atmos for several years but none of the newer styles stuck my fancy. I happened to see these two beauties on the same day at two different antique clock shops.

The first is signed Kirby, Beard & Co, Paris. I have been unable to see the serial number or reference number.

The second is signed Brevet JL Reutter, SGDG and is nr. 5496.

Both have recently been serviced by Atmos experts and are keeping excellent time. The asking price of the first is about 30% more expensive than the second.

From an aesthetic and technical standpoint, I'd like to hear your opinions about which you prefer.

Chris

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Clavi
(Login trueClavi)

I would go for the first one

November 30 2006, 4:30 AM 

From a technical standpoint they are I believe basically the same.
From a scarcity point of view, and from an aestetics point of view, I would definitely go for the glass domed one over the more common cube one.

So as far as collectibility is concerned, I believe you'd better go for the first one.

However, if you want to display it in your house and will pass by everyday, then you should probably choose whichever suits your tastes better, because in both cases you are already sure to have an outstanding clock, as none of the two will be a bad choice for sure.

Respond to this message   

watchme
(Login uwatchme)
AP Discussion Group

Agreed. The first one is one I've never seen, so rarity is key...

November 30 2006, 6:53 AM 

unless you simply don't like it.
-Dean