Subscribe to TheLongHairLoom
Powered by groups.yahoo.com

Please visit Sticks and Stones Hairsticks The best place for totally custom sticks!!
Enter a long URL to make tiny:
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

The Swirly Bun

May 16 2004 at 6:42 AM

Leia  (Login Leia9)

Here is my bun - The Swirly Bun (thank you for everyone who helped come up with the name! ) I've never done step-by-step instructions before, so I'm not sure if this will be clear or not. It's quite a tricky style, but hopefully the pictures and the instructions will help aid you. I wear this almost every day - it can be secured with hairsticks, ficcares, mini claws, hairpins, etc. It can be unsecured, too!

Much thanks to my Mum and brother who took the pics for me. Here we go!

Gather hair in a ponytail in your right hand.

Place left hand (wrist) above ponytail.

Using the right hand, pull the ponytail over the wrist of your left hand and then pull it downwards.

Here comes the tricky part. Your left hand wrist should twirl up and then left, creating a loop with the hair. First twirl the wrist up...

...then move it towards the left...

...and bring it down again.

Your right hand will still be holding the tail (now shortened). Reach your index finger and thumb out (you can't see my thumb in the picture, but it's there!)...

...and grab the tail in those two fingers. Your tail will be longer or shorter, depending on hair length.

Use your right hand to grab the loop of hair you previously created. Grab that loop and push it down towards your scalp (still holding the tail in your left hand).