<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

New to Board...but not to Fertility Meds/Follicle follies...help! a bit long.

January 5 2006 at 4:15 PM
Chloe  (Login Chloe77)

Hello everyone..
Have been lurking for a few weeks on and off, and have learned so much from all of your postings-what a great group of women, please forgive my lack of abv. usage- I am just learning them all. Here goes...I have a unique situation. I am trying to conceive via IVF-due to mainly my husbands' factor. After an amazing career and life of travel, I finally got married at 39, and almost a year later began seeking out a Doctor etc. to start this procedure. It is the only way I can get pregnant using my husbands's sperm and my eggs...By time all tests were done & I was approved for the start of a cycle I had turned 40-however do not feel or even look my age for that matter, but as we know our ovaries etc. do not care!. I thought I would have no problem stimulating on the drugs etc..my fsh is ok around 9.0 etc. , very healthy , fit, non smoker ,have given up caffene, drink once or twice a month, yoga accupuncture(now) etc., was pregnant before in my early 30's-anyway, My first cycle was a bust..I mean absolutely nothing happend, I didn't even get side effects!...I was on Gonal F(4 75 iu vials) and Repronex(2 75 iu vials) per night for five evenings...after my first sonogram etc..they saw nothing at all!! also know we were not doing those injections 100 percent correct so that had to have something to do with it...the next cycle they upped my gonal f dosage and threw in clomid to help things along...had some severe side effects to this and ended up with two follies...both at a good size one almost 20 the other 18, with my estradiol numbers good..but after 7 days they cancelled my cycle saying i need 3 follicles or more to proceed & that one of the follies was too dominant..will resume another cycle in Feb. will meet with Doctor to discuss protocol changes etc..am not open to using d