Return to Index  

What Are Essential Oils?

September 2 2003 at 4:17 AM

Fox  (Premier Login pictures)
Owner

What are Essential Oils?
by D.A. Fox

I am not an expert in the field of essential oils, although I've used them for years. I thought it would be best to get information from other sources and present it to you here for the best possible article. I wanted you to have the facts, not just what I've come to learn. Each section that is used from another source, and is not noted within the body of the text, will be noted at the end of the article, and credited there. I hope this will be a great learning experience for you!

Essentials
*"Essential Oils are the concentrated vital essences of aromatic plants. They contain potent theraputic properties and are much used in cosmetics, perfumes and flavorings, and in aromatherapy- a system of healing the body through massage, inhalation or bathing with blended essential oils. Although called "oils" they are more like water, being a liquid that readily evaporates.

Essential oils are found in minute glands in one or more parts of aromatic plants: in leaves (basil), flowers (rose), fruit (lemon), seed (corriander), wood (sandalwood), resin (frankincense), bark (cinnamon), and roots (calamus). Heat causes these essences to evaporate, creating a protective aura around the plant which seems to fight bacteria, fungi and pests, and also seems to act as a buffer against extreme temperatures."

How They Work