bruceleelivesbanner.jpg

Oakland JKD is a mystery

December 31 2017 at 7:14 AM
JKD Respecto  (Login JKD_Respect)

Response to Re: Oakland group - BL was actively hiding his methods

Hello everybody. I am an Oakland JKD student. As one of the Oakland JKD students, I can very much say the way we train is completely different from Taky, Chinatown JKD (WNG), Inosanto Academy, and pretty much 95% of all other JKD guys out there. I don't condemn or put down any other JKD schools, but from what I've trained, ours is one of the closest ones to connecting the dots on Bruce's secrets. Indeed, there are many secrets we don't publicly share, we don't record on DVDs and sell them out, we don't host mega seminars and try to recruit members, and we still have lots of old school JKD training methods used by Bruce Lee and the original Oakland JKD ways. We still use a lot of the old equipment. If any of you are serious about learning Oakland JKD. I'd humbly like to say that Oakland JKD does things differently.

First and foremost, Seattle and LA branches of JKD were left out. Oakland however, was not. The reason why is because the friendship that Bruce Lee and James Yimm Lee were very different compared to Inosanto, Ted Wong, and Taky Kimura. Out of all of them, James Yimm Lee was the most capable martial artist among them all, and James Lee actually helped Bruce Lee a lot. (ie, Bruce moving into James house, writing books together, teaching WC, WJM fight, then evolving to JKD) James Yimm Lee can basically be considered a co-founder to the original JKD material. If Bruce had secrets, it would not be much secrets as him and James Lee spent thousands of hours in James' garage developing the blueprint for Jun Fan Gung Fu & then later Original JKD.