Click logo to enter advertiser's site

Return to Index  

C6 Issues

June 27 2012 at 5:17 PM
Ian  (Login imeredith)
from IP address 97.67.224.163

Okay, sorry for the long post, but I have been told this is the place to come and ask the experts about transmission problems. Let me start off by saying that I am a total noob with trannsmissions and I have probably done more harm than good so far, and I am prepared to be told that. happy.gif

The vehicle is a 2WD 1982 Ford F150 with a 351W and a C6. I bought the truck for a song last summer and I knew it was going to need some work. From day one, I had to manually shift into 2nd gear and third was kind of iffy. I drove it to work and back all ladt summer and fall (about 5 mile round trip, so issues didn;t really matter). Right around Thanksgiving, I lost second and third gear completely on the way home, and first gear started slipping very badly. I limped it home and started researching my options. The fluid was dark, full of crud, and smelled burnt. I knew it wasn't worth buying a reman trans or having this rebuilt at a shop for $1500, so I ordered the super master rebuild kit from Rockauto and the Haynes Ford Auto Trans manual from Amazon. I read the whole thing cover to cover a few times, as I had never fooled with an auto trans before. I consider myself pretty mechanically inclined, and I figured worst case I would end up with a truck that still had a goofed up trans and only be out around $200 total and a bit of my time.