<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Waters Not Impressed with Pink (not Floyd)

July 3 2017 at 4:22 AM

WRF  (Premier Login AlexRoberts)
Owner

"Unfortunately, as one is being given increasing reason to point out, some of us will not stand idly by while the totalitarian regime toys with the Championship, apparently on a whim." - Chris Waters

Chris Waters

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Jay
(Login overman8)

Re: Waters Not Impressed with Pink (not Floyd)

July 3 2017, 9:08 AM 

Sounds like it's the final cut.

Brian
(Login NewBrian)

July 3 2017, 9:58 AM 

Troubled Waters.

Dewsburian
(Login Dewsburian)

July 3 2017, 10:16 AM 

It's reassuring to know that others in responsible positions are also reduced to ranting now and again where the ECB are concerned.

Steve C
(Login stevecowton)
Assistant Moderator

July 3 2017, 12:22 PM 

He's a journalist.
No one with any sort of responsibility at all.

Well, I'm a part-time freelance journalist (255 articles published), and meeting deadlines , which are very onerous in the Internet-driven 24-hour news cycle, the Net's profound effect on the demand for journalists (many newsrooms have been completely wiped out), and the agony of delete and not being able to pitch articles at a reasonable price are also significant stressors.

My local newspaper, which locked out its entire newsroom staff more than a year ago in a labour dispute, has cut my fee by 20% and back to the same level I was paid 15 years ago. I’m sure cricket journalists have suffered a similar fate given the cutbacks in cricket coverage and cricket's decline in popularity over the past several years.

For example, last month I submitted an op-ed to a major Canadian newspaper I've had great success with over the years but which came back with the message that they no longer PAY for op-eds, and will only publish articles of 500 words or less. (Attention-span issues?)