Return to Index  

Open-Ended Questions

March 23 2010 at 5:46 PM
Michael Dorosh 

Response to Give 'em Some Slack

Here is a sampling of some of the open-ended questions I have been receiving via email in the last few weeks:

How would I go about finding lists of members of the militia (particularly Toronto) anytime between 1865 and 1900? I am an amateur genealogist researching his ancestral roots and, having reached a brick wall in this endeavor, am reverting to delving into other possible avenues by which my male ancestors of the time may have traversed.
Thank you for your advice.

First of all, my site clearly indicates THE CANADIAN SOLDIER IN THE 20TH CENTURY. So I find it odd that he started out by talking about the period 1865-1900. I simply had nothing to tell him about this period as it is clearly outside the time period clearly delineated by the site. I also have no interest in genealogy. I came right to the point with my reply:

That's before my period of interest, I'm afraid. Good luck with your search.

I bit my tongue with regards to the 20th Century.

The response was this:

Well, thanks for the big effort to provide me some useful information from your expertise.

I have not bothered with a response, but if I were to, I guess I would ask how much he thinks a professional genealogist would charge him for doing his research for him. Even better, why he thinks a 20th Century historian would have any "expertise" or "useful information" to provide about 19th Century genealogy to begin with. Or why he feels I owe him a single thing. Don't get me wrong; this forum and my site exist to help people and share information. That's done at the pleasure and leisure of those providing it, not out of obligation to anyone.

This one came more recently, and would be a little harder to be snide in response to, but again, what could I possibly say in response:

I hope you can help me. I am trying to get some information on my