Respond to this messageReturn to Index
Original Message
  • Answers to Your Questions......

• Posted Aug 24, 2009 2:43 PM

Christopher,

Your questions seem to be about the tactical handling of a rifle company in combat and what the correct procedure was for the handling of the company headquarters's vehicles and the company's snipers. I am not an expert on Second World War infantry tactics but I have been researching Canadian war establishments for many years now. Before I put in my 2 cents there are four things I have learned that I would like to pass on.

1) The greater ones interest becomes the more one realizes that the answers are not on publicly available internet forums or books. If you're lucky enough to be living in Ottawa or near to a military museum, use the resources available. The LAC and DHH are great places to rummage through files, as are the museums. If you can't do this, then go to your local military shows and purchase some manuals etc. These also have a wealth of information. There is a cautionary note however, sometimes the official documents can be wrong too!

2) A war establishment (NOT an order of battle) is an administrative document. It does not deal with tactics or the four phases of warfare. There were 33 Canadian rifle battalions at the height of the fighting in Europe and I would bet that probably none of them matched the official war establishment at any given time. This was not due to a lack of discipline by the commander but to the situation and available resources confronting the battalion.