Go back  

Self-elected Boards: Common or Uncommon?

February 24 2008 at 1:32 AM
Steve Bridge  (Login expres)
Veteran Member

After several hours of research, I have some further answers on Charles Platt's question, "where are all the self-electing boards?" http://www.network54.com/Forum/291677/message/1202937646/self-elected+boards-+Common+or+uncommon-

It turns out that the answers are not easy to find, because there is no one source that lists this information. Someone else told me that this was easy; I was a librarian. Just go to the list of nonprofits and look.

Well, there is NO list of all non-profits. There are a couple of pretty large lists; but they don't report how the Directors are elected. Most non-profits web sites do not display the Bylaws or otherwise discuss details about their governance. They are not required to list this information on their IRS 990 annual report forms. Even the non-profits that Charles listed don't all have that information on their web sites, and I couldn't confirm all of his judgments. I'd like to know where he got his information. Even what he did find is a bit misleading. The Better Business Bureau, Goodwill Industries, and the Red Cross do not have individual members. They have *Institutional Members" -- businesses, other non-profits, or local affiliates, who generally select their individual boards however they want to. The United Way is much the same, although the National Board does not seem to be voted on by the affiliate members. The web site claims that "The Board is now compromised of diverse volunteers who are senior representatives of the largest, most influential donors and sponsors, noted intellectual, civic, and moral leaders, and other stakeholders."

Also, IEEE is basically a professional organization. None of these are remotely comparable to a cryonics organization. Now, if we had an *association of cryonics organizations*, this pattern would make complete sense.