Return to Index  

OT: My first trip to Italy

June 3 2012 at 10:13 AM
  (Login dsiewmy)
from IP address 175.145.213.146

2 weeks ago, i had the opportunity to visit Italy for the first time. Although i've been to a number of places, i have never been to italy. I don't know why is it so, but i guess fate hasn't arrived yet.

So when the opportunity (or an excuse) came along, i snapped at it immediately without question.
Although actual work was done on this trip, i have to honestly say most of the time was spent hunting down the 3 panerai boutiques and meeting wonderful people.

(Disclaimer : I'm a lousy photographer, and although the camera i used was a decent one, i'm seriously lacking some skills)

started of with a transit at the doha airport (also a first for me!)
IMG_2164.JPG

once i arrived malpensa, i took the express train to the centrale station.
it's funny that i pronounce it as "central" but the italians pronounce it as "centra-leh".
IMG_2170.JPG

funny note: please note that the first person to actually speak to me when i arrived italy, was in fact a chinese, who spoke to me in mandarin. and also, the last person who spoke to me was a VAT officer, was also a chinese national, in mandarin. pretty peculiar especially when i'm in italy.

next morning, i headed to the duomo, it was pretty early, not much crowd yet
IMG_2203.JPG

next to it was the Emmanuelle 2 plaza, pretty nice
IMG_2183.JPG

i heard somewhere that this is the first prada boutique EVER!!!
IMG_2191.JPG

love the cobblestone streets, everything seems so vintage
IMG_2207.JPG

i even saw a watchmaker selling vintages next to the duomo, i simply love the word "orologeria"
IMG_2213.JPG
the crowd building up at the duomo
IMG_2214.JPG

first boutique, was the MILAN boutique at via montenapoleone
IMG_2252.JPG

all i can say for this boutique is it's a very modern one but with FANTASTIC people working in it.