Cooks Garage
 

  

  

  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Cooks Index  

A new take on an old scam...

December 13 2007 at 9:58 PM

dougc  (Login fxcomet)

The following email copy came from an ad inquiry I made via Autotrader. I'm use to seeing these on ebay, but this is a new one. I also found three ads today listing the exact same car and price with three different locations..Buyers beware. Here's the email I received:

Hello,
I have received your email regarding my car. First of all my name is Sam Hile and I am the owner of the 1992 Acura NSX that you have asked about. You can see pictures of the car here: http://www.geocities.com/epiquetopgear/acuransx. The car has been very well maintained and garaged with 214,000 miles. It is in excellent condition. The Acura is flawless inside and out. The interior is in like new condition and has never been smoked in. The VIN# is JH4NA1154NT000865. I have the clear title in hand. You will receive all paperwork, title, keys, owner manual and receipts that you need to register it in your name. I'll ship it by DAS and it will take no more then 3 days to get to you. The keys and papers will be sent by UPS overnight. The total price including shipping is $10,000. As I listed the car with Auto Trader and Yahoo Autos, they will handle the financial transaction so we can be 100% protected and insured. If you commit to buy the car please sign up at www.autos.yahoo.com, activate your email and let me know your yahoo id, full name and the shipping address so I can contact them and set up the transaction and also make shipping arrangements. Please notice that I am not in the states so i won't able to make this transaction in person. The car is already crated at the DAS CA center and ready to be delivered. We just have to start the transaction with yahoo autos so i can start delivery. Thanks and hope we can close the deal soon.

Sam Hile

 
 Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Joe Burnett
(Login CycloneJoe)

I half expected

December 13 2007, 11:23 PM 

his first name to be Sig

 
 Respond to this message   


(Login Motrhed)

Re: A new take on an old scam...

December 14 2007, 6:52 PM 

Other than being a little TOO descriptive and rehearsed, how did you peg this for a scam?

 
 Respond to this message   

Anonymous
(Login RCodePaul)

Re: A new take on an old scam...

December 14 2007, 9:15 PM 

Maybe it was that he..."I also found three ads today listing the exact same car and price with three different locations..Buyers beware. Here's the email I received:"



428SCJ '69 Mach1
'65 Mustang FB project

 
 Respond to this message   

dougc
(Login fxcomet)

How to id the scam

December 15 2007, 1:10 PM 

Actually, the car I spoke of listed on three different ads is a different car altogether It's ALSO avilable on ebay, btw. The ad the "owner" responded to via email has several key scam elements. A non-available owner (out of the country), a car not available to be inspected (already crated and ready to ship), and finally, shipping from LA to Kentucky with shipping included in the price and three day delivery? I don't think so. Other clear red flags would include unrealistically low asking prices, the desire to complete the deal electronically, and of course, the old, "I'll give you a check for 5K more than the price and you refund me the difference".

 
 Respond to this message   
Current Topic - A new take on an old scam...
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Cooks Index  



Check
out our Frappr!