<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Salvia 'Blue Ensign' seed?

August 3 2017 at 7:01 PM
Dan  (Login hawkeye_wx)
Hummingbird lover 2009

I've been growing salvia 'blue ensign' for many years. As far as I knew, this plant produces no seed. I've never seen any seed in the calyxes and I've never seen any volunteers... until now, that is. This spring I noticed an apparent blue ensign shoot growing about 18 inches away from the main plant, which was overwintered in the ground for the first time this past winter. I just assumed it was growing from a long runner. It continued to grow with the rest of the plant and I haven't paid much attention to it. This morning, however, while looking out my bedroom window, which is right next to the plant, I noticed an odd black bloom spike among the typical green blue ensign spikes. It pretty quickly hit me that that one shoot is not growing from a runner, but from a seed that dropped from a previous year's plant. I'm guessing the flower color will be the same deep blue as blue ensign, but I won't know for another few days. Has anyone else found blue ensign volunteers, or even any seed? Steve?
East-central Iowa
Zone 5a

This message has been edited by hawkeye_wx on Aug 3, 2017 9:33 PM

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Ward
(Login WardDas)
Hummingbird Moderator 2005

Re: Salvia 'Blue Ensign' seed?

August 3 2017, 8:21 PM 

You must be anxious to see what you have. I would be. As to your question most guaranitica set seed, at least the types I've tried. But I have never had a garden volunteer.

Indy Steve
(Login SteveWnindy)
Hummingbird lover 2007

August 3 2017, 10:02 PM 

Nope, the only thing Ive seen is a sprout a distance away by way of runner.
Steve
Martinsville In.
Zone 6

Find more about Weather in Martinsville, IN
Click for weather forecast

Richard Dufresne
(Login RichDufresne)
Hummingbird lover 2013

August 4 2017, 12:23 PM