<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>return to index  

For the experts: Are juveniles actually smaller than adults?

August 10 2017 at 8:43 AM

Ron  (Login RonDEZone7a)
Hummingbirder 2008

I was watching what I thought was a juvenile Rubythroat this a.m., right out my window. I could swear it seemed smaller than the adult male I saw a few minute later... So, are there really size differences like that or is it just my imagination?
Wilmington, Delaware
USDA zone 7a
Heat zone 6
Sunset zone 32
[linked image]

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply

Joe M.
(Login flhummer)
Hummingbirder 2012

Re: For the experts: Are juveniles actually smaller than adults?

August 10 2017, 9:36 AM 

Ron, I'm no expert and my eyes aren't what they used to be but I don't think size necessarily means much. Generally light colors make objects appear larger, dark smaller. To my eyes all immature birds look to be the same size. Adult females I believe are, in fact slightly larger and I believe its noticeable when alongside immature birds. The difference between adult males and immature birds is pretty hard to explain except for the darker overall coloration of the male makes him appear smaller than the lighter coloration of the immature birds.
Just my thoughts on the subject maybe Nan might have a comment?
Joe M.
Sturbridge, MA

Ward Dasey
(Login WardDas)
Hummingbird Moderator 2005

August 10 2017, 10:34 AM 

They can look smaller especially when their tails haven't grown to their full length and it appears that often their bills have a ways to go after fledging. I am pretty certain about the tails which often look forked until the central tail feathers catch up and a bit less so about the bills. Generally I agree with your impression. Sometimes I have to get out my binoculars to prove to myself I am not seeing a Calliope.

Kathi and Michael Rock
(Login kathirock)
Hummingbird Member 2006

August 10 2017, 12:57 PM