Return to Index  

Great Stuff Hector

August 10 2017 at 2:06 AM
JimC  (Login 22Jim)
YF

Response to Most of the Minutemen League Clubs are already implementing an

I have been shooting action pistol (IDPA and some IPSC) for close to 20 years, not so much lately since bitten by the FT bug. I have often envisioned Field Target getting enough shooters to justify the cost and effort associated with adding multiple layers of classes to a division structure. I hope we are gaining enough momentum that it will happen in the not to distant future.

If nothing else I would like to start with perhaps two classes in our Field Target structure. Here's how it would work. Lets call the two classes Marksman and Expert. Every division would have these two classes. Everyone would start as a marksman. There would be specific criteria defining how you would move from the Marksman to the Expert class. Perhaps as an example 3 matches in one season shooting a raw score of 80% or better would move you from Marksman to Expert, or perhaps a top finish in your class at a GP event. What happens is the better, more experienced shooters will move up the ladder and compete against people at a similar skill level. Ultimately it gives more shooters a chance to compete against similarly skilled shooters and win some accolades. As you mentioned it adds layers to the prizes and complexity to the scoring, but nothing that is overwhelming. What is critical is that you have enough shooters to provide real competition through out the various classes.