SpringGunning

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Merry Christmas & Thanks

December 25 2014 at 11:43 AM
A Campbell  (Login gapi)

I wanted to say Merry Christmas to all and Thanks for allowing me "as a potential customer" to post here in the customer forum.
I am a serious potential customer because as a machinist myself springgunning.com talks my language. Seeing the shop it happens in is excitement for me.

I'll most likely go dormant after this post unless there are replies to answer or a rifle I want is posted up.

So before I lay back and wait I want to report I switched back to the .177 bbl today on my R9 clone and think its my real preference.

I previously posted pics here of my little front porch "stay in shape" range out to 70yds. After a couple weeks of lobbing .22's down range I really enjoyed it. Going back to .177 yesterday I could really experience the contrast in the trajectory and hold overs required between the two.

I can only speak for my Tuned R9 Clone but with a 17 yard Zero, where I was holding over @70yds by 3-dots on a mill dot reticle in .22, I was holding over with a smidge over 1-dot in .177. That excited me.
It just got better as I went for the closer targets. I guess I am a .177 man. Actually I am a dual gun guy be cause I enjoyed the .22 a bunch. But if I had both calibers on hand the .177 would get the most attention. As I stand now that is.

I do some Crow pest control when I can and read a review post the other day how a person bragged about taking out a Crow @25 yards. Hmmmm..... if you can get at-or-within 25 yards of a Crow around here without a blind you are doing something. And once the blind reveals its purpose you may as well take it down. I use a call, I vary how and where I use it, and its lots of fun trying to convince smart crows to drop guard.

If there are no .177 offerings in my price range, I will request to send in a new R9 in .177 unless otherwise suggested to find a good used one.