<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Out of the box power for a CFX

October 24 2006 at 4:58 PM
ORBEX  (Login ORBEX)

Hey there I'm a first time poster, great informative site.

I just bought a new CFX Combo in .177. This was advertized as 1000fps and as such reqired me hold a firearms licence (since I live in Canada which is restricted to 500fps for non FAC/PAL holders). Anyway I have a licence so bought it, got it home and ran a couple of dozen of various pellets through it. Then decide to shoot it through the F1 Chrony. Only had time for a few shots and used various pellets (Gamo Master point, Gamo Magnum, Crossman Premier Hollow Point and some Crossman pointed hunting pellets).I got readings ranging from 712 to 860 fps. The highest at 860 fps was one of the Gamo Master points which I believe weigh 7.9 grains. I calculate that this equates to 12.97ft-lbs of energy as the best case shot. This seems pretty low to me, I was expecting 16ft-lbs, but I'm no expert. What do you guys think, is this normal for a new CFX? What pellet weight is supposed to yield 1000fps? Will the power increase as the guns gets more use? Do I need to have it tuned to get its full power?

Sorry for all the questions, but would like some more expert opinion.

Thanks!

This message has been edited by ORBEX on Oct 24, 2006 5:02 PM

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Ken Fawcett
(Login kenatthefarm)
YFOT

I would never expect nor want 1000 FPS from a CFX. (I have 4) Your numbers seem a tad

October 24 2006, 5:14 PM 

low but the barrel probably needs a good (read: really good) cleaning. These guns, even new, come with a gummy brown gunk in the barrel.

Respond to this message   
ORBEX
(Login ORBEX)

Re: I would never expect nor want 1000 FPS from a CFX. (I have 4) Your numbers seem a tad

October 24 2006, 5:47 PM 

You could be right about it needing cleaning. The outside was a little grubby.