<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Index  

Is this a scam too?

June 5 2000 at 12:17 PM
No score for this post
 

 
Somehow I found a girl named Maria from Chernovtsy, Ukraine on the Internet. Her agency has sent me letters that she supposedly wrote, but they are general introductions and when I write back and ask a specific question, it is never answered. So far I have not been asked to send money or anything, but I noticed that the mail is coming from luba@sacura.chernovtsy.ua which is the "Mrs Baranova's club" that people say on this message board is a total scam. The reason why this Maria says she uses this club is because "My natural shyness prevents me from making first steps in
acquaintance with a man I like. I couldn't even dare to write my introductory letter to a man whose photo and ad I saw on the dating site or in a catalogue. Only matchmaker, standing next to me, makes me feeling more confident." I have asked if she has her own computer, and her own email address, but I receive no answers to this question. Her dad is supposedly employed as the head of the Economic Department at the Trade Economic Institute. You would think he would have a computer and Internet connection at home or at work. Anyway, my question is – is this a waste of time sending emails to this person, or could she be real? How can I find her real address and find out if she is a real person? I notice that the people who were traveling to Chernovtsy in April never wrote back of their experience. Did they get ripped off? Was it a waste of money? For info about traveling to Ukraine go to Lonely Planet at:

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/dest/eur/ukr.htm#facts

 
Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.Respond to this message   
AuthorReply

yes it's a scam

No score for this post
June 13 2000, 6:40 AM 

I was getting an email every morning from luba@sacura.chernovtsy.ua, but they have stopped since last Wednesday. I was asking so many questions to try and verify if this Maria was real and really writing me. I found her on the oneandonly.com website, and I was told by my friend in Sweden that her profile and picture had been taken off. I verified that her picture was taken down. The last email I got was a message that pleaded, "I will be very glad if you would come to Ukraine. It will help us to know each other better. Can you come this summer?"
When I wrote that I didn't believe Maria was actually sending me the emails, Luba stopped leading me on with the scam. I just hope other men find this board and realize Mrs. Baranova's Club in Chernovtsy is a big sad scam on lonely men seeking love and happiness.

 
Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.Respond to this message   
Anonymous

Untitled

No score for this post
July 9 2001, 7:28 AM 

n/t

 
Scoring disabled. You must be logged in to score posts.Respond to this message   
Current Topic - Is this a scam too?
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Index  
Find more forums on Travel and TransportationCreate your own forum at Network54
 Copyright © 1999-2010 Network54. All rights reserved.   Terms of Use   Privacy Statement