Click here for recipes!

Click here for the archives!

Return to Forum  

Kim and the Crazy Quilt

June 15 2012 at 8:54 AM
Kim  (Login KimAB)
The Frugalista Files

or How Kim Went Crazy Trying to Learn Something New...

First of all - let me say that all the women involved are doing this for free and extremely kind and gracious. I am the crazy on in this story AND I KNOW IT!

My whole goal was to learn really nice surface embroidery so that I could do embroidered pictures or the kind of pictures that have different kinds of fabric in them, but they look like something.

I have a lot of embroidery experience and I would say my skill is past beginner for most basic stitches. I gave it up for a long time, though, so I haven't got a lot of stuff and kind of don't want a lot, either. I've got a couple hoops in different sizes and I buy floss as needed for a project then use it up in small 'use it up' projects like little Swedish huck weaving bags.

I do have a lot of thread and strings in white and a pale taupe that I am beginning to dye for a bit of selection.

I am trapped in the 70's (I guess) and the only cotton I have in the house is white or unbleached muslin. I never sew with cotton. I haven't since my kids were little and I was making their own clothes.

The only quilting I ever did was with my grandma. Grandma S. (sigh) She was.... uhhh... :-/ What does a person say about Grandma Olive... She was very happy with herself and her life. She liked quilting and sewing clothes for international orphans. The clothes were made of Fortrel (sp?) so they are probably still around somewhere... not worn out... just like all the clothes she made for me when I was a kid. Anyway- she was tone deaf, but liked to sing and had no sense of colour, but liked to quilt!