Click here for recipes!

Click here for the archives!

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Forum  

How would you describe your cooking skills?

April 16 2012 at 8:22 AM
  (Premier Login MaxineS)
Forum Owner

In one word: JOURNEYMAN. I can cook most things (although I've never learned to work pie dough very well--it always tears) but I am not very imaginative and I don't want to put too much effort into it. I do know a lot about cooking, mainly because I've been doing it regularly for over 45 years.

Last night we had pork chops, brown rice, homemade applesauce from the freezer and spinach. Tonight we are having pan-fried oysters and I don't know what else. Homemade soup from the freezer for lunch. These are typical of the meals I cook.

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
PJ
(Login ruralgirl)
The Frugalista Files

Certainly not professional!

April 16 2012, 8:51 AM 

HAPHAZARD would be the word most likely! It's pretty well by sheer accident if anything turns out the way it should! I'm about the world's worst when it comes to reading a recipe and actually following it! Something always gets overlooked. And for the life of me, I don't know why I don't just stick with a tried and true deal, but I always try something new when I have a crowd over. Instead of just poisoning dh, I go for the whole crowd!! LOL ...........and even worse they keep coming back!!

Respond to this message   
Carol
(Login CTMOMto4)
The Frugalista Files

Accomplished?

April 16 2012, 8:56 AM