Back to PuttingZone
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Main  

Rules for Marking Balls on Green

July 24 2004 at 12:55 PM
  (no login)
from IP address 172.201.63.241

Dear Geoff,

I have been playing golf for eight years. A grizzled veteran told me that up to the 1950's people were not allowed to mark their balls when on the green and you had to putt around them. Is this really true?

Thanks,

Steve

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply

(no login)

The Stymie and the Rule for Lifting and Marking

July 24 2004, 5:24 PM 

Dear Steve,

Yes, it's true.

The ball could only be lifted initially when it was touching an opponent's ball, and later when it was within 6 inches. This goes way back to the 1700s. Lifting and marking the ball on the green was first allowed in 1956 ("should" be lifted), but there was no "requirement" to mark the ball until 1976. Cleaning a ball on the green was not allowed until 1960. Here's the history of the Rules of Golf:

Ref.: http://www.ruleshistory.com/green.html#marking