<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

transfer questions

August 27 2012 at 11:41 AM
Antonialisa  (no login)

With these questions you can tell I'm a newbie here, hehehe.

Is it a good idea to plan a 1/2 day or day of bedrest after an embryo transfer? Should I avoid lifting anything heavy? I'm preparing arrangements and flights right now.

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply

(Login Raindrops1)

Hi Antonialisa.

August 27 2012, 11:51 AM 

Well my RE told me to just go about life as usual after my transfer, no bedrest at all. I was told not to lift anything heavy and avoid saunas and hot tubs. I had a lot of anxiety that day so I went on a walk for at least an hour that afternoon after transfer in the hot sun. Didn't hurt a thing happy.gif

I think some RE's do recommend bedrest still. I personally think going for a nice walk helps with the blood flow though. Wishing you luck!

Respond to this message   
Anonymous
(no login)

Re: transfer questions

August 27 2012, 12:26 PM 

My Dr. recommended I take it easy (don't go to work afterwards), but not bedrest.
And don't lift anything over 40 lbs.

Respond to this message   
Anonymous
(no login)

cont'd from above...

August 27 2012, 12:29 PM 

take it easy the day of the transfer; and don't lift anything heavy at least until the pregnancy test.

Respond to this message   
thesameboat
(no login)

The most important thing is avoiding heat

August 27 2012, 12:49 PM 

You don't want to take hot baths or showers. Anything that might mimic a fever would be bad. Lifting is also something to avoid. I did bedrest some transfers and others not, but did for both of my successful transfers. (Still doesn't mean it's necessary.)

Maybe for your own peace of mind, if you can and it's not to inconvenient, take the rest of the day off to lounge in bed and nap.

Wishing you luck.

Respond to this message   
Dee
(no login)

Re: transfer questions

August 27 2012, 1:11 PM 

bedrest is not necessary.